Anxiety: My Greatest Teacher

dsc_0685sw2

Everyone experiences a certain level of anxiety and I’m no different. I’m not going to say that my journey with anxiety has been a constant “anguish,”  for I believe that I wouldn’t be the person I am today without my best friend- Anxiety.

Only a year ago I viewed anxiety as a nasty obstacle that I must overcome and find a way to get rid off because of its constant interference in my life and happiness. It was overwhelming, devastating, and honestly quite annoying since it kept me up at night. For a while, I thought I might just go mad with the whole overthinking/overanalyzing everything! But that’s all in the past now…

So, what changed?

So, one day I was just chatting with random people over the internet (ok, don’t judge) and I came across a certified psychotherapist. I started nagging about how much my anxiety bothered me and all that. That was the day when my entire perspective on anxiety changed honestly..

Anxiety is a double-edged sword, he said.

Everything in life is a double-edged sword and so is anxiety. Yes, my anxiety keeps me up at night; it makes me restless, anxious, and uncomfortable. However, my anxiety is the main reason I make it to class on time every morning. Its the reason I always give a 150% in everything I do. My anxiety is my motivator.
My anxiety allowed me to understand people around me. It taught me how to be stronger and helped me become positive and maintain a balance in my life. My anxiety allowed me to understand myself better. It allowed me to understand why I fear, why I worry, why I feel restless and so on. It allowed me to finally see that’s all about how I perceive things. I am the one who controls my thoughts and not the over way round. Its all in my head. Therefore, if I choose to dismiss something as insignificant, then it wouldn’t hold a greater value to me anymore. Easier said than done, right? But… I believe that we are much stronger than we know.

Its all about perception. If you look at anxiety only as a source of pain and irritation then you’ll make yourself miserable. Just accept that anxiety is a part of being human.

Don’t allow your thoughts to takeover your life. Its you who is in control, its your mind, your thoughts, and your choice. So, take a deep breath, relax, have a positive outlook, and reclaim control over your life.

“Rule your mind or it will rule you.”
-Buddha

 

 

Leave a Reply

